Station Day

31 May

The Ohio Center for Broadcasting has a number of projects that you are required to be apart of in order to graduate.

 

This project, Station Day, takes a couple of weeks due to the process of producing everything from SCRATCH!

 

First as a class we decided on a format, our call letters, and applied for what positions we wanted to have during this project.

We choose A/C, WCRE (The Cure), and I applied for music director, plus on air talent.

Leah, one of my classmates, and I became the music directors. Both of us were excited about this due to we are both highly influenced by music. We worked extremely well together. She is a pop-culture know-it-all especially with anything from the 80’s and 90’s. It’s extremely impressive. She concentrated on the 80’s and 90’s music and I concentrated on the 90’s, 2000’s, and today. We gathered our lists and got our song lists together.
Once we had our songs in our system, we had to re-name the files. Plus, alphabetized and TIME all of the songs. We picked over 300 songs, so you can imagine the work we had to do!

We waited for the time logs from our Program Director…then we had the daunting task of picking songs that sounded well together in the time slots allotted to us. Also, some of the songs needed to be edited, so I had to go to the studio and add some effects to the songs (mostly reverse) to make sure our grade was not lowered due to some FCC banned words escaping onto our airwaves! Plus, we also wanted to keep a certain mood in each set of songs and make sure they blended well together.

This was a lot harder than I thought it was going to be, but we made it!

Our instructors for this project complimented Leah and I for the work we did. It was a lot to do, but the way we worked together it went very smoothly. I could not have asked for a better partner on this part of the project.

Today was the day that the whole project came together.
Tiny Tim and I were in the mid-day slot. Yesterday, we practiced and we did ok, but today we were awesome! I was really proud of what we did together!
I ran the board, making sure everything fired correctly on the SAM system, plus had entertaining, engaging, and informative talk breaks.

Overall, this project was difficult, but I learned a lot about how a radio station operates day-to-day. I even enjoyed myself in the process.
However, I’m ready to move on to the next project which I do believe is “Game Show.”

Leave a Reply

